Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BCT to AIT

Hello.

After BCT, do you go straight to AIT? Do you have any time in between the two training's to see family before AIT?
    Also, can family/spouse visit during AIT?
    Do I have the opportunity to communicate with my spouse during AIT?

Thank you for your time and help.

Unless you are doing a split option training program, in most cases you will go from BCT to AIT. In some situation both BCT and AIT are held together depending on what MOS you enlist for. They're called One Station Unit Training (OSUT). Towards the end of Basic Training you will have a family day, where family can come and visit with you, then the next day is the graduation ceremony. Depending on your training company's SOP, you may even be released on family day for a specific portion of the day, meaning you can go off post with them.

When I graduated, my grandfather and parents came down. On family day we went and got lunch at one of the local Malls and then went and saw a movie. I think we had to be back on post no later than 1800 hours (6pm). The next day was the graduation ceremony, shortly after that we were gathered our things and staged them for departure. Parents/Family were able to visit with their Soldier again and even meet the Drill Sergeant to conducted the training. Orders for AIT were distributed and family members were asked to disperse. Once we received our orders for AIT we grouped up in order depending on what our travel arrangements were, and we were shuttle to either the airport or bus stations. Your orders gave you a specific time to report to your next duty station (AIT) and a point of contact to reach incase there were any issues along the way.